Maple Ridge : Wild play

The first week of July was another great summer day!  We made reservation for WildPlay Elements Park in Maple Ridge that Saturday, as a birthday party of sorts (three of my friends were also born in the month of June).  They have different locations like Victoria and Kelowna but the only drive-able distance for us was Maple Ridge (Addy : 23485 Fern Crescent, Maple Ridge, BC)

WP_20150704_001 (2)

Basically it consists of many mini obstacle courses above the ground and for my girl friends who were afraid of heights — they were basically questioning themselves why they signed and paid $35.00 for this.  More Information here: http://wildplay.com/maple-ridge/.

Wild Play
Wild Play

It is not really possible to go there by transit so one of my friends drove us there.

(Actually, BC transit says you can! — Train996Bus791BusC47Walk but it will take almost 2 hours).  It took about 30 minutes and a bit from Brentwood but on a highway without much traffic.  We used Trans-Canada Hwy/BC-1 E and Golden Ears Way, I think.

one of the obstacle courses
one of the obstacle courses

We paid and signed our lives away online (liability waiver form); we only needed to sign in 🙂  We were officially on our way!

wild play
wild play

We had a harness tied to our waist along with 2 clippers to securely hook ourselves onto the ropes and holders as well as a hanger for ziplining.

wildplay
wildplay

It was OK in the beginning but then I slipped a bit and all confidence went out the window.  The hardest ones were in the latter part of the obstacle course, such as walking on swing logs high above the ground, or moving a single log I was stepping on from one end to another.

the end!
the end!

Sorry, that was all the photos I had, I was not able to take any photos while I was swinging in the air.  My arms were also very sore from pulling myself along these obstacles.  At one point I was screaming “I can’t do this! I can’t!” … while clinging to dear life as I hang onto some nets…. LOL

byebye\\
bye bye

Two of my friends have a wedding to go to … and so we ended up eating McDonalds for lunch.  We all had happy meals .. and got a minion! Best birthday meal ever ~~~~

McDonalds
McDonalds

The happy meal fries is actually a lot smaller than the small fries, it is mini size!!

Happy meal fries
Happy meal fries

… and we were on our way back to Vancouver.

driveby of Maple Ridge
driveby of Maple Ridge

We actually made a quick stopover in Coquitlam at my friend’s place … even though she lives in the suburbs up in the hills where black bear sometimes come to visit their beautiful garden…. they have a great view!

chilled out in Coquitlam
chilled out in Coquitlam

FYI: We got a free Wild Play bandanna because it was our birthday 😉

.. and there were fireworks on Canada Day:

One thought on “Maple Ridge : Wild play

Leave a Reply

